Select Page

The April 6 consolidated election was more than a week ago, but many races in Lake County remain too close to call.

Some have single-digit totals separating winners from losers, even with almost all the votes counted. The only votes outstanding are late-arriving mail-in ballots and provisional ballots.

Lake County Clerk Robin O’Connor said the ballot count will be final at 5 p.m. April 20, and she will sign documents April 22 that will make the results official.

Here’s a look at where the close races stand, including those that have been finalized since election night.

Antioch trustee: Petrina A. Burman has a 20-vote lead over fellow challenger Mary Priller for the last of three village board seats. Burman has 1,134 votes to 1,114 for Priller. Incumbent Scott A. Pierce earned reelection with 1,259 votes, and challenger Brent C. Bluthardt earned a term with 1,240 votes. Incumbent Jerry Johnson finished last with 1,066 votes.

Deer Park trustee: Incumbent Keith D. Olson has an eight-vote lead over incumbent Michael Mann for the last of three village board seats. Olson has collected 190 votes to 182 for Mann. Leading are incumbent Victoria Zimmerman, with 228 votes, and challenger Michael Reiser, with 204. Bozena Ryt, a challenger, appears to be out of the running with 117 votes.

Hainesville trustee: Just 8 votes are the difference for the last of three village board seats. Kristine Chynoweth, wife of current board member Jack Chynoweth, has 106 votes and a slight lead over incumbent John Derenoski, who has 98 votes so far. Incumbents Georgeann Duberstein, with 135 votes, and Walter Kriese, with 133 votes, appear to have secured new 4r-year terms.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Lindenhurst trustee: Four candidates vying for three open village board seats are within 55 votes of each other. Patrick Dickson, a challenger, leads with 567 votes. Incumbent Dawn Suchy is second with 561, while incumbent Patty Chybowski is third with 533 and challenger Jamie Ross trails with 506.

Round Lake Park trustee: Challenger Cynthia Fazekas has a 13-vote lead on incumbent Robert E. Culp for the third of three village board seats. Fazekas has 240 votes to Culp’s 227. Challenger Karen M. Eggert, with 295 votes, and incumbent Robert P. Cerretti, with 258, appear to have earned 4-year terms. The other candidates are challenger Ronald S. Tucibat with 220 votes and incumbent Paul A. Zillmann with 214 votes.


Warren Township High School District 121: Four winners have emerged among the five candidates vying school board seats. Incumbent Katherine Blair leads with 5,112 votes, while the other four were bunched more closely. Challenger Natalia Alvarez Martinez received 4,370 votes, and incumbents John R. Anderson and Paul Schulz, collected 4,282 and 4,183 votes, respectively. Challenger Blake Thomas, with 4,045 votes, was not elected.

Fremont District 79: Since Election Day, clear winners have emerged in the eight-way race for four school board seats. Challenger David D. Whitson with 917 votes, was ahead of fifth-place finisher Sarah Roy, a challenger, with 843. Joining Whitson on the board will be challenger Pamela A. Shaw, with 1,364 votes, incumbent Maria Simoncelli, with 1,235 votes, and incumbent Shawn Killackey, with 1,047 votes.

Libertyville-Vernon Hills High School District 128: Voters were choosing among 10 candidates to fill four school board seats. Kara Drumke, a challenger, got 3,255 votes to finish fourth and edge out incumbent Kevin B. Huber, with 2,803 votes. Also winning 4-year terms are incumbent Don Carmichael with 3,478 votes, challenger Sonal Kulkarni with 3,428 and challenger Cara Benjamin with 3,307.

Grayslake District 46: Five candidates seeking four 4-year school board seats are separated by just 137 votes, and fourth-place finisher Jason Lacroix is 25 votes ahead of Andrew Schmidt. Lacroix, an incumbent, collected 1,362 votes, Schmidt, a challenger, earned 1,334. Incumbent Stephen Mack, with 1,471 votes, challenger Michelle Elise Anderson, with 1,412 votes, and incumbent James Weidman, with 1,387 votes, appear to have secured four-year terms.

Lincolnshire advisory: Just 17 votes are the difference, but it appears the majority of voters supported allowing the sale of recreational-use marijuana in the village. Five hundred voters said “yes” and 483 said “no.”

This content was originally published here.